The Housing Authority was established on 11th October 1976, by an Act in Parliament, entitled Act XV of 1976, better known as The Housing Authority Act. The Housing Authority falls under the Ministry for Social and Affordable Accommodation. It has been contributing to the strengthening of Maltese society ever since its establishment.

Prior to 1991, the premises and offices of the Housing Authority were located in Valletta, at the Auberge de Bavière in St. Sebastian Street, where the offices of the Lands Department are presently located. The premises of the Housing Authority moved to Pietro Floriani Street, Floriana, where we still offer our services to date.

The Housing Authority has been developing, promoting and financing the development of housing estates and other residential and commercial accommodation, in efforts to promote home ownership as well as improve the general housing conditions in Malta. The Authority intends to take a holistic approach through the provision of various schemes and initiatives targeting those who are most in need of its assistance. It has committed itself to improving the quality of life, whilst pursuing a better future for Maltese communities.